Whitepapers

CCPowerShellProtect

The powerful PowerShell, which is preinstalled in all Windows systems, is generally available as a useful aid for administrators or for automation. Due to the many possible uses, hackers have also discovered PowerShell as an attack vector and have made extensive use of it in recent years. In order to detect such attacks, PowerShell activities of all Windows systems (clients and servers) should be centrally logged and monitored. The whitepaper comprehensively describes the options for monitoring and logging.

 

https://ccvossel.de/wp-content/uploads/CCVOSSEL_CCPowerShellProtect-Whitepaper.pdf

State of the art

As part of our membership in TeleTrusT we participated in the “state of the art” working group in developing recommendations for action. The working group has summarized the “state of the art” for the relevant systems, components and processes within the meaning of the IT Security Act in one handout. The document provides specific information and recommendations for action.

 

https://www.teletrust.de/fileadmin/docs/fachgruppen/ag-stand-der-technik/2020-10_TeleTrusT-Handreichung_Stand_der_Technik_in_der_IT-Sicherheit_DE.pdf

ShellShock

Our partner contribution for the Cybersecurity Alliance deals with the Shellshock vulnerability, a family of vulnerabilities in the GNU Bash Shell, the command line interpreter of Unix-like operating systems such as Linux. Originally only the “Bashdoor” security hole discovered on September 12, 2014 was named.

In the article we first deal with the shell shock problem on Windows systems and then on Unix / Linux systems.

 

ACS – Homepage of the Alliance for Cyber Security – CCVossel: Shellshock – The security gap also under Windows (allianz-fuer-cybersicherheit.de)

Whitepapers

CCPowerShellProtect

Die in allen Windows-Systemen vorinstallierte mächtige PowerShell steht grundsätzlich als sinnvolles Hilfsmittel für Administratoren oder zur Automatisierung zur Verfügung. Durch die vielen Anwendungsmöglichkeiten haben auch Hacker die PowerShell als Angriffsvektor entdeckt und machen in den letzten Jahren sehr starken Gebrauch von ihr. Um derartige Angriffe zu erkennen, sollten PowerShell-Aktivitäten aller Windows-Systeme (Clients und Server) zentral protokolliert und überwacht werden. Im Whitepaper werden die Möglichkeiten einer Überwachung und Protokollierung umfassend beschrieben.

 

https://ccvossel.de/wp-content/uploads/CCVOSSEL_CCPowerShellProtect-Whitepaper.pdf

 

Stand der Technik

Im Rahmen unserer Mitgliedschaft beim TeleTrusT haben wir im Arbeitskreis „Stand der Technik“ an der Erarbeitung von Handlungsempfehlungen mitgewirkt. Der Arbeitskreis hat den „Stand der Technik“ für die relevanten Systeme, Komponenten und Prozesse im Sinne des IT-Sicherheitsgesetzes in einer Handreichung zusammengefasst. Das Dokument gibt konkrete Hinweise und Handlungsempfehlungen.

 

https://www.teletrust.de/fileadmin/docs/fachgruppen/ag-stand-der-technik/2020-10_TeleTrusT-Handreichung_Stand_der_Technik_in_der_IT-Sicherheit_DE.pdf

ShellShock

Unser Partnerbeitrag für die Allianz für Cybersicherheit setzt sich mit der Sicherheitslücke Shellshock, einer Familie von Sicherheitslücken in der GNU Bash Shell, dem Kommandozeileninterpreter von unixoiden Betriebssystemen wie beispielsweise Linux auseinander. Ursprünglich wurde nur die am 12. September 2014 entdeckte Sicherheitslücke „Bashdoor“ genannt.

Im Artikel gehen wir zunächst auf die Shellshock-Problematik auf Windows-Systemen und anschließend auf Unix/Linux-Systemen ein.

 

https://www.allianz-fuer-cybersicherheit.de/ACS/DE/_/partner/150930_Partnerbeitrag_CCVossel_Shellshock.html